Gunslinger – A Journey to The Dark Tower in Music: Volume 1

Gunslinger – A Journey to The Dark Tower in Music: Volume 1

Release Date: 4/4/2017


Amazon MP3Apple iTunes/Music – Bandcamp – CDBabyGoogle Play – Groove iHeartRADIONapster (Rhapsody)Pandora SpotifyTidal – YouTube


The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed.”

One of the most famous quotes from a Stephen King novel. They are also the very first words that begin the story of The Gunslinger, which is the first book in Kings’ magnum opus series, The Dark Tower.

The series tells the story of Roland Deschain, Mid-World’s last gunslinger, who is traveling southeast across Mid-World’s post-apocalyptic landscape, searching for the powerful but elusive magical edifice known as The Dark Tower.

I have always wanted to do a musical interpretation of the series, and Gunslinger will be the first of a multi-release project for it.

Wait, so you’re gong to do a musical interpretation of the ENTIRE Dark Tower series? That’s certainly something extremely ambitious” Yes it is, and yes that’s my goal.

Obviously this is not something that’s going to all be flying out at everyone this year. This is a multi year project, and in between I’ll still be releasing the occasional ambient styled and chill out styled albums I have released before. However, I plan to have one Dark Tower release each year.

I’ll be doing another read through of the series while I take detailed notes and form the themes throughout the series. My current plan is to have 1 release per book in the series. The names of the releases won’t match exactly to the titles of the book, but will be close. For example, my thoughts on the title for the first release is the title of this post, “Gunslinger – A Musical Journey to The Dark Tower: Volume 1”. We’ll see if that sticks.

So with that said, here is my “Tentative” release schedule for these. Of course, if inspiration hits early and work is completed early this will adjust.

  1. The Dark Tower: The Gunslinger – 2017
  2. The Dark Tower II: The Drawing of the Three – 2018
  3. The Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands – 2019
  4. The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass – 2020
  5. The Dark Tower: The Wind Through the Keyhole – 2021
  6. The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla – 2022
  7. The Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah – 2023
  8. The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower – 2024

You’ll notice that I include The Wind Through the Keyhole in the middle of the main books as it is set chronologically between Wizard and Glass and Wolves of the Calla.


Listen to the single Life for Your Crop right here!  I will set my watch and warrant on it that you will enjoy.


A YouTube playlist of album art videos for the album


Gunslinger Review by Resounding Footsteps

%d bloggers like this: